order of operations for holy grail milky way timelapse

Let's help each other to become better photographers and videographers. Tips and tricks for better photos, videos, timelapse etc. are welcome.
pazoulay

March 2nd, 2024, 6:25 pm

This might be a newbie question, but then I am a newbie.
When choosing the ramping order for a holy grail milky way time lapses I was thinking of:
0. Focus at infinity during daylight.
1. begin with a landscape-appropriate aperture, e.g. F8 or F5.6.
2. Set the limit aperture to that I would choose for a single astro exposure, eg F2.2 on my Sony 14mm GM.
3. Set the max shutter speed to 10 seconds with an interval of 30 seconds (would 15 second be better).
4. Set the max ISO to 6400, as i would typically not use a higher ISO for single exposures.

Does this sound reasonable?

Should the ramping order be Shutter Speed, Aperture then ISO. or Shutter Speed, ISO, then Aperture?
mopperle

March 2nd, 2024, 8:04 pm

The answers to your questions depend on a lot of parameters:
0. Focus to the most remote object which should be sharp. E.g., when i take pictuters of the night. sky, I use the live view of my camera with highest magnification for focusing manually to get a sharp picture of a star. Setting just to infinity might be a bad idea.
1. I usually use a fix aperture, because changing the aperture during the sequence might produce weird results because of the change in DoF.
2. see 1.
3. The intervall is a result of the longest exposure time + the darktime. The darktime is the time the camera needs to write to the SD/CF card and to get ready for the next picture. So you have also to take into account of how long UNLEASHED needs to calculate the values for the next picture. Do not underestimate this!
4. The max ISO depends on the noise your camera produces. For night skies I usually have not more than 3200 ISO. But you can test this easily by making some test shots.
Regards,
Otto
Oliver

March 4th, 2024, 10:29 am